Karma and the horse that nearly killed me.

Karma.

We all know the word and I’m sure some of us know the repercussions of it. I wonder, as a writer, how many people have realized what they have thrown at another person has actually came back to them in a karma fashion.

Here’s a little story of my own of a horse I bought that nearly killed me.

Karma comes back to those who sin.

Six years ago, I met “Jack” who dealt with horses. I’m an experienced rider and have trained a few horses so it wasn’t as if I had never been around them, I had been riding since I was 7. Fast forward 38 years….Jack told me he had just the right horse for me.

Now I knew a friendly horse is a good thing, a pushy horse is not and a shy horse is one that may or may not have been abused. So caution is always the first and foremost important trait in searching for the right horse for the right rider. I also wanted a horse that was experienced around young children.

As I got to know Jack over a few weeks he showed me a very large stallion. WOO he was huge, a bit bigger than I was looking for but I fell in love with him. He nuzzled into my neck, licked my fingers, and had eyes that any momma would coo over.

My first red flag should have been he was too friendly and Jack was too eager to get rid of such a friendly horse for almost nothing.

He even threw in the saddle, bridle, lead, and comb. A comb? Really oh boy. Lol We saddled him up that day and I hopped on, he was a bit edgy with the saddle on (red flag #2) but soon settled down and I rode him around for a few minutes.

It was a done deal. I actually walked him home, we lived that close. I introduced him to my much older mini and they got along great. Days went by and the two were like brothers. I named my new (no name) horse Legend. (He soon lived up to the name.) So Outlaw and Legend became great friends and I doted on them both.

At 17 ½ hands tall and 1100 pounds Legend soon began to show signs of being pushy, rearing up and nipping at Outlaw.

I had no choice but to become more firm with his behavior, letting him know real quick where the boundaries are and my space verses his. Playful as a pup his nuzzling large nose flared with huffs but was soon blinking those eyes of, “I’m sorry.”

Over the next week I worked with him on reining and saddling, he still wasn’t comfortable enough with the saddle and rider so I had some work to do.

As I lead him out to the pasture one day I turned to pet his nose before releasing his alter. He reared up. I backed away and thought WOO. No biggy. I walked away to show him I wasn’t impressed.

The next day I saddled Legend and climbed aboard. We walked around for a while then he did it, he reared up. There I sat on top of what felt like a mountain. I leaned forwarded, petted his mane, and said, “Well I’m so proud of you now down because I’m not getting off.” He listened and went down on all fours.

What he did next almost killed me. And I know this story seems long but truly, I’m getting at the karma.

It was the first warm spring day after what seemed like weeks of cold rainy weather. I hadn’t worked with either horse in almost a month. I brushed and saddled both horses, walked them around and fed treats. I decided I’d work a little more with Legend and take him for a walk around the property, something we often did.

Two and a half weeks later, I woke up on life support in ICU. I thought it was another writer’s nightmare; I was in one of my horrors, one I couldn’t wake from. I had tubes in my throat and nose so I couldn’t talk or move my body. My eyeballs were the only thing that moved. My daughter understood my blinking and she put my glasses on my face. In huge letters on the wipe off board, I saw the date, two weeks of my life had vanished. During that time they said it had snowed, my daughter miscarried her baby and spring had fully sprung.

Sounds of alarms, machines, and air pumped into my lungs made it all become a reality that I was truly in a bad place. (And I mean bad by this was not a nightmare but real life)

Questions started pouring through my mind of how I got there, what happen, who did this to me and what was the outcome going to be. Did something fall from the sky? Did the earth open up and try to swallow me? What?

Then I hear my daughter ask if I wanted her to paint my toenails. I felt the wetness of a tear drop from the corner of my eye. My son said he had to leave as he bent down to kiss my cheek and my husband held my hand. Awe my hand I felt his in mine, I can feel his warm touch.

As the next few days went by, I motioned to be taken off life support. I made my decision not to live like a vegetables for my family to visit on weekends and holidays. The doctors hesitant said I was already a miracle and taking out the tubes would be harsh and couldn’t be put back in if I couldn’t breathe on my own. I motioned again with the only arm I could move. By the next morning, I was sitting on the side of the bed waiting for help to go to the bathroom when my husband walked in. Shocked he was angry at the doctors for not waiting on him to take the tubes out yet crying at how happy he was that I was alive and sitting up breathing on my own. A mix of emotions we wept together and knew it was going to be a struggle. I’m a person of determination and wasn’t about to settle for a hospital bed, or death.

Now as months went by, painful as they were, I learned to walk and talk again. It wasn’t easy. My spine had been snapped in 2 places, my shoulder blade broken in half, my lung punctured, 12 broken ribs, my spleen, and left kidney had exploded and I had some brain injury with memory loss. In time, I remembered the last thing I was doing before waking up in ICU, walking Legend.

Yes, that huge baby nearly killed me. With the injuries I had, we figured out what happen. On the day I walked him I did a no-no. I put my left hand under his chin to lead him in a circle. Thankfully, I had gloves on otherwise, I’m sure I would have been missing a finger or two. As I walked him he must have reared up, his new habit, he took me up in the air with him, snapping my back and shoulder blade in half and knocking me unconscious. When he came down my body like a rag doll fell to the ground like a jackhammer to concrete, my hand still hooked under his chin. His chest pounded my body into the dirt. My husband found me lying in the pasture and then a helicopter took me on a lifesaving ride. I don’t remember any of that of course, a good thing because I’m afraid of flying.

Now you’re wondering what the Karma is right? Well remember I said the guy Jack was too eager to get rid of the horse? Well come to find out a year later he knew the bad habits of Legend but it didn’t matter to Jack. If he could make a buck over what he could get from the slaughterhouse than he’d sell any horse to anyone. Yes, I said slaughterhouse. Jack was a poseur. He talked the talk of being a straight up cowboy who would never sell a tainted horse to anybody but what he really did was steal horses and sell to the slaughterhouse for money. This horse though he hadn’t made up the fake papers yet to sell on his next load. I came along and fell in love with what seemed like a perfect well-behaved horse. I also didn’t know that when I went to look at the horse Jack had doped him with a calming shot. The same that vets give horses before they float their teeth.

We of course had gotten rid of Legend before I came home from the hospital, making that decision was difficult but Jack was willing to take him back and put him out to pasture. Retire a young stud.

Jack, well almost one year and two months after my accident he was found dead in his truck on the side of the road next to the pasture where he hid his stolen horses, Legend stood nearby.

Was it the Karma of Jack’s deceitful life that killed him or the curse of Legend?

Leave a Reply

