Writing the Eye of Lies

Writing a book wasn’t in my plan of life, but it happen. In August of 2012 I decided to take a refresher course on writing Children’s picture books. I was shocked to learn that my nak for writing was more suitable for Young Adult and Adult. I was fine with that, except I had no idea where I would go with it, or what I would write. So, a few months into the course the instructor asked for a 100 word short story. 100 words? Really? Can life not be any more cruel but to come up with a story using only 100 words? Well, duh I felt dumb, what do you think children’s books are….hum some are less then 25 words. Lol So the drabble began and I thought, well, she said I wrote better adult so I started mine from a nightmare I had had all my life. It was great! I was graded with only a few marks of red ink for punctuation. 🙂 I was hooked, I wanted to write more. The next assignment wasn’t as thrilling, but I got past it and learned. I wanted to learn everything I could about writing. I checked out books from the library on writing resources as well as some fiction books to study dialogue, writing style, and word usage. Stephen King’s book on Writing became my favorite, as we all know he is a master. Lol I also discovered James Scott Bell and all his wonderful books on becoming a writer. (Those books have dog eared pages, highlighted passages, and colored tab markers throughout. I’d have to say they have become my most referenced books.) The Authors’ Toolkit by Mary Embree has also been a favorite. And of course can’t forget The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr and E.B. White. This book has saved me many of hours and debate with the comma and other troubled spots. Let’s face it, I’m not a writer, but a story teller. I failed in school, English and language arts was my worse subject. I mean really why dissect a sentence? What is the purpose of that? Okay so back to the idea of writing the Eye of Lies. A few months after writing the 100 word short the instructor said to add 400 more words to the story. A total of no more that 500 words. Hum, I thought where could this go. So I added to the nightmare of the first short and it was great. My instructor loved it and said she’s like to read more of the story. I was writing fiction. 🙂 A few more assignments later I found out that the first 100 short and the second would later be used again to create a full chapter, so, while working on the studying of learning the elements of writing, the back of my brain was conjuring up the rest of the story. BOOM. It was great and when I had to hand that story in, my teacher loved it. She even wrote a very nice letter. 🙂 By the end of the course, I had wrote a novel. Now two years later that novel is ready for the rest of the world to read it.  Oh, and I might add four months of that has been editing, rewrites and editing. I’m hooked, I love writing, creating characters so real, you cry with them, you worry about them and love them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

